Blue Water Healthy Living


Local Sports

Richmond wrestling named No. 9 all-time program by Michigan Grappler

By Joseph Hayes

You have probably heard of their success.

The Richmond High School wrestling program has had more than its fair share.

As recently as last season, Richmond finished in second place as a team in Division 3, with several individual wrestlers having noteworthy, successful seasons.

Advertisements - Click the Speaker Icon for Audio

As part of the tradition of the program, Richmond has recently graduated several athletes to the collegiate ranks, and several continue to be recruited to this day.

Because of their success, Richmond was recently named by the popular Michigan wrestling website Michigan Grappler as the No. 9 wrestling program all-time in the state.

“Michigan Grappler ranks Richmond the No. 9 wrestling program of all time in Michigan,” Richmond coach Brandon Day said. “We are honored but definitely not satisfied. Thank you to everyone who has affected the program in a positive way over the last 51 years.

“We had a 10 year championship run in the 1970’s, a program rebuild in the 1990’s and have had a current run of success at the highest level. People are programs. Richmond wrestling has been Blessed with some great unselfish people that have made this program what it is and who make it even better in the future.”

Here are some of Richmond’s team accomplishments

Team Titles: 8 (2000, 2002, 2006, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2017)
Team Runner-Ups:
8 (1996, 2004, 2007, 2013, 2014, 2018, 2019, 2020)
Team State Trips:
21 (1994-96, 2000-02, 2004, 2006-07, 2009-20)

4x State Champs
Devin Skatzka (2012-15)

2x State Champs
Stephen Ireland (2010, 2012)
Aaron Kilburn (2014, 2016)

Individual State Champs
1997: Brian Schwartz
2000: Joe Riedel
2010: Stephen Ireland, Brian Henke
2012: Stephen Ireland, Devin Skatzka, Garett Edwards
2013: Devin Skatzka
2014: Aaron Kilburn, Devin Skatzka, Jake McKiernan
2015: Devin Skatzka
2016: Aaron Kilburn
2018: Alex Roberts, Tyler Marino
2019: Hayden Bastian
2020: Luke Davis

4x State Placers
1999-02: Ken Thomas (2-2-2-3)
2012-15: Devin Skatzka (1-1-1-1)
2013-16: Aaron Kilburn (3-1-2-1)
2015-18: Colton McKiernan (8-3-2-2)

NCAA Qualifiers
2017: Devin Skatzka (Indiana)
2018: Devin Skatzka (Indiana)
2019: Devin Skatzka (Minnesota) 8th, Colton McKiernan (SIU Edwardsville)
2020: Devin Skatzka (Minnesota)

For more stories like this be sure to stay tuned to Blue Water Healthy Living

Related posts

Barjaktarovich takes season postponement in stride

Joseph Hayes

Matt Cronin Earns USPBL Player of the Week

Sunday Conversation with Joseph Hayes and Big Ten champion Morgan Beadlescomb

Joseph Hayes

Leave a Comment