By Karrie Beck
Originally published on February 17, 2017.
Blending beautifully modern and unique jewelry with timeless pieces, Mosher’s Jewelers continues their commitment to the Blue Water Area. Owners, Bill Mosher and his sister, Emily Mosher Wallace, truly capture the essence of what it means to be family-owned. Dating as far back as the late 1800s, Mosher’s Jewelers founder, Clarence W. Mosher, a watchmaker from Holly, MI, began his work in Port Huron in 1906 operating a corner counter in Sylvester’s Drug Store. Here, he serviced watches for the crews of Grand Trunk and Pere Marquette railroads.
The iconic Mosher’s Jewelers’ street clock, dating back to 1910 and still visible today, proudly symbolized the service needs of the railroad community. Following WWII, George Mosher joined his father, Seely Mosher and purchased a larger, more modern store in 1965. As the business grew, various items were added throughout the generations. Fine china, gemstones, and silver gifts, just to name a few. This location, currently residing at 206 Huron Avenue, was historically reconstructed in 1993.
Advertisements - Click the Speaker Icon for Audio
If you enjoy our feature stories, “like” our Facebook page.