Blue Water Healthy Living


Local News

Lake Huron Foundation Volunteer Organization Awards Ten Local Scholarships

PORT HURON, MI – Lake Huron Foundation’s Volunteer Organization (LHFVO) is pleased to announce ten (10) scholarships have been awarded to students enrolled in a community college or university who are studying for a career in the health care field. 

Because of COVID-19 pandemic and the financial difficulty it has placed on many students, LHFVO increased the number of scholarships awarded in 2020 from six to ten. The hope is to provide additional relief to students during this unprecedented and uncertain time. Each recipient will be awarded $1,200. The 2020 Healthcare Scholarship recipients are: 

Megan Carnaghi – Franciscan University
Lindsay Carter – Grand Valley State University
Kaitlyn Fletcher – Michigan Technological University
Sydney Kenaya – Michigan State University
Serenity Lademer – Michigan State University
Courtney Lundy – St. Clair County Community College
Christene Marcum – St. Clair County Community College
Jamison Nightingale – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Olivia Poelker – University of Detroit Mercy
Heather Porter – St. Clair County Community College

The eligibility requirements and considerations included: students enrolled in a community college or university who are studying for a career in the field of health care, are currently enrolled, carrying a minimum of six (6) credits per semester and demonstrating satisfactory progress.

Advertisements - Click the Speaker Icon for Audio

For more information on the programs and events at Lake Huron Medical Center, please visit

Related posts

Detroit Zoo Puts the ‘Zoo’ in Zoo Boo

Blue Water Healthy Living

Watch – Why Can’t America Fill a Pothole?


Watch – Do You Understand the Electoral College?


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.